My Journey to Create a Coding Space for Coders (Learn to Code Without CS Degree)

Transform your life with coding skill

Amy Li
5 min readSep 26, 2022

Since Feb 2022 when I left my full-time developer job, I have been committed to my startup projects, and also passionate about the idea of building up a community to help people transform their lives by learning to code.

So, Who Am I? Why do I believe I should do this?

As an ex-doctor (clinical physician) based in China who obtained her Ph.D. degree in The Netherlands four years ago, I don’t feel regret about shifting my career from medical field to the software industry. There are several reasons for my decision but the most important one is I favor freedom a lot. As a developer who knows how to code, I can code anywhere and anytime, and compared to performing clinical practice in a hospital, I could quickly transform my ideas into realistic products to become a digital solutions to problems. Learning to code is one of the best choices I have made in my life. To be honest, I find myself so lucky to be able to land a professional developer job in a beautiful western country — The Netherlands.

--

--

Amy Li

Software Developer | Ph.D. in Medicine. I write about programming, productivity, personal development, and entrepreneurship. https://www.youtube.com/@amyjuanli